Machine Head: New Audio Samples From ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds’

Machine Head: New Audio Samples From ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds’

Machine Head have released some new audio samples from their soon to be released album, ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds‘ on a revamped website homepage, which can be found at  To hear the new samples just scroll over the homepage to find the clips.

Bloodstone & Diamonds‘ is set to be released 10 November via Nuclear Blast Records.  The cd has been produced by front man Robb Flynn and Juan Urteaga, and mixing duties were taken on by Colin Richardson.

Flynn spoke to Metal Hammer about the musical direction of ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds‘ earlier this year, stating;

There’s definitely a lot of urgency on this record. It’s a really heavy record arid there’s a dark and evil vibe to a lot of it, but I feel like there’s more of a rock vibe in there too. It’s stripped down at times, and I like that. I think that sense of urgency has carried over from the demos we did, which were all done very quickly and spontaneously. We tried to keep that spontaneous vibe on the album.  At one point we started getting really anal on the tracks and spending tons of time on stuff, and we’d listen back and say, ‘You know what? This doesn’t have the vibe of the demos.’ The demos were so f—in’ frantic, so we changed our mindset and now it’s a little bit looser. Some of the guitar takes are basically live. Often, 40 or 50 percent of a song came from a spontaneous, live take and that’s killer! It adds energy and makes the songs feel alive.

Commenting on the title of the album, Flynn describes it as;

Without getting too philosophical on ya, bloodstone and diamonds represent two of the hardest materials on earth, it is also a lyric from the opening track of the album ‘Now We Die’. In many cultures the bloodstone has been used as an amulet to protect against evil, and is the symbol of justice. Diamonds and are hardest natural material on earth (which is how we feel about our music), and it also represents the diamond logo I drew 22 years ago (in my wife’s apartment on Dover St. in Oakland) that has become the symbol for the band.

The tracklist for the new album is;

1. Now We Die
2. Killers & Kings
3. Ghosts Will Haunt My Bones
4. Night Of Long Knives
5. Sail Into The Black
6. Eyes Of The Dead
7. Beneath The Silt
8. In Comes The Flood
9. Damage Inside
10. Game Over
11. Imaginal Cells (instrumental)
12. Take Me Through The Fire

The new album, ‘Bloodstone & Diamonds‘ is available for pre-order through iTunes now.

Click here to read more about the easiest guitars songs to learn.

Leave a Comment